Log in

The 1st Pillar of Islam 

The 1st pillar of islam is the testification that there is none worthy of worship, i.e. no diety worthy of worship, except Allah and Muhammad is His Messenger. In Arabic this is written as:

لَا إِلٰهَ إِلَّا الله - مُحَمَّدٌ رَسُولُ الله

Laa Ilaha Illa Allah - Muhammad ur Rasulu Allah
(There is no illah, i.e. god or diety worthy of worship, except Allah; Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah)

The above statement, also known as the testification of Islamic Monotheism, is called the Shahada in Arabic. Shahada means "to observe", "to bear witness", "to testify" and the Muslim bears witness, testifies to the Oneness of Allah (سبحانه و تعالى) and the Messengership of Muhammad (صلى الله عليه و سلم).

The testification of the Oneness of Allah (سبحانه و تعالى) is also the rejection of any form of deity other than Allah (سبحانه و تعالى). The testification that Muhammad (صلى الله عليه و سلم) is His Messenger, is the acceptance of Muhammad (صلى الله عليه و سلم) as being chosen by Allah (سبحانه و تعالى) to convey His message of Islam to all humanity, and to deliver humanity from the darkness of ignorance into the light of belief.

The Three Aspects of the Shahada

The Shahada is composed of 3 things: Affirming the Oneness of Allah (سبحانه و تعالى), also known as Tawheed, affirming the Messengership of Muhammad (صلى الله عليه و سلم), known as Risala (Messengership), and then acting upon these statements of the Shahada with deeds and actions, known as Amaal (actions and deeds).

More information on:

  1. Tawheed - Oneness of Allah (سبحانه و تعالى)
  2. Messengership of Muhammad  (صلى الله عليه و سلم)
  3. Actions of the Limbs



More in this category: Tawheed »